A post with pictures

Hello everyone! I have sat down a few times this morning to write this but it seems if I am seen sitting then the children need my attention! So I will see how much I get written before I get discovered sitting down again.

Yesterday we had a really good Sunday. We were invited to a friends house for lunch. They have 2 girls that Peyton loves to play with. It was a 2 hour drive so we didn’t go to church. We listened to a message on our drive there. It was about bitterness and I must admit it was very good for me to hear! We can have bitterness in our lives that is buried so deep we might not even know it is there. Also we can use many different labels and titles to rename anger and bitterness when we don’t want to admit to sin. As always its very good to listen to a message in English and feel encouraged and challenged. At times it can be a bit discouraging with the lack of spiritual growth we see and feel with the church here. You can join us in praying that we would know what the best way is to impact the community spiritually.

Bryan is leaving on Wednesday to fly to Ohio for a board meeting. He will be gone until Monday. I am not that excited about being here without him but hopefully I can plan some fun things to do with the children to make the time go by a little quicker. With Bryan being gone next weekend we decided on Saturday to do something together as a family. I guess it was a typical Haitian outing which resulted with 5 hours of traveling and not doing anything. We had wanted to go to a pool that is about a hour and a half from here. We had some stops to make on the way there so when we finally got there we were all ready to get out of the truck for awhile. But the pool was not clean and so we climbed back in the truck and drove home. I guess it wasn’t a total waste! We still got to spend time together and we got food to eat on the way home so I had the evening off from making supper.

I was planning on doing laundry today but the sky has been overcast all morning. Bryan thinks we have rain coming. I guess I should have went ahead and did my laundry to make sure the rain would actually come! It seems like laundry on the line can attract rain. But since I’m just doing laundry for our family right now I think I can wait another day before i need to do it. I have some vegetables planted in tires on my porch. Bryan is the one with the green thumb around here so he tells me what needs to be done with them. He told me today I need to put some compost on them and cut grass to cover the soil. I’m sure Peyton will love going to get some compost with me. Bryan has worms he feeds to make compost and Peyton likes digging around in the dirt and holding the worms. Almost every kind of bug is her friend! We have some frogs that live on our porch. Peyton is my brave girl when I am afraid one is going to jump at me I can get her to go out and get what I need.

Thought you might enjoy me posting a few pictures of our normal lives. IMG_0138Peyton helping me make passion fruit juice

IMG_0243Yes my kitchen does look like this some mornings when I am trying to get an early start on my baking before I clean up breakfast (and this is my whole kitchen)

IMG_0127The temperature inside our house when I have the oven on.

IMG_0086My ‘garden’. My plants are bigger now. One of those tires has a few strawberry plants in it! I’m counting on Bryan to get them to produce.

IMG_0223One of our froggy friends.

I have someone knocking at my gate needing me so I should get going.  Have a good week. Love to all -Ashley

 

4 thoughts on “A post with pictures”

  1. So much fun to read about life down there. I was thinking it was warm in my house the other day with the oven on, but I guess it really wasn’t after seeing this. 😀

    Like

  2. As always it is great to hear what is happening in your lives! The children are growing up so fast. Looks like Peyton is loving helping in the kitchen. Sounds like we will get to host Bryan, 1 more of 2 already Beachy brothers and dad at our house. Love the pictures! Love and Prayers!

    Like

    1. Yes I am a bit jealous Bryan gets to go see you all and I don’t. And Peyton is starting to be a good help! She can set the table,help fold laundry, pick up toys, and even entertain Weston which usually is the biggest help to me!

      Like

Leave a comment